Welcome (It took me long enough…)

Joe MullAs someone who has been a trainer and speaker for many years it’s somewhat remarkable that I’ve not taken the step to start a blog. In recent years I’ve enjoyed using other platforms to share articles, tips, tricks and thoughts related to my work. Of late though I’ve had a desire to do more long-form writing and develop a medium to have more direct interactions with managers, leaders, other trainers, etc. So…I’m finally taking the big leap to set-up my own little piece of virtual real estate.

But let’s back up for a moment. If you happened upon this site and have no idea who I am or why you should spend any time here, let me give you the nickel tour:

Over a 13 year career I have designed and delivered management training and leadership development programs for organizations. I’m a proud member of a community of learning and development professionals that are highly skilled, insightful, enthusiastic, and constantly pushing me to be better, go farther, and learn daily. My niche, so to speak, has been in healthcare. I think there are very few fields as noble as this one. Our primary function is to tell people that when they are sick or injured, when their children or loved ones are sick or injured, to come in, sit down, and let us take care of you, comfort you, fight along side of you. What could be more noble than that?

Thusly I’ve long loved working with healthcare managers. Theirs is a demanding, exhausting role, one that is often underappreciated and underdeveloped. I’m proud to partner with them in their quest to build high functioning teams, become stronger leaders, and embrace the critical role they play in employee engagement and patient satisfaction. But this blog is not just for healthcare leaders. If you hold any kind of leadership role in any kind of environment, my hope is that there’s something here for you.

You can use the links on this site to navigate to the more formal biography I have posted here which will tell you about my education, training, professional roles and affiliations if you are interested in learning more about me.

In the meantime I hope you’ll join me here, from time to time, for active discussion and lots of learning. Not because I have anything to say that’s all that profound, but because engaging in an ongoing dialogue allows us all to learn from one another. So if you’re here…talk!

~Joe

2 thoughts on “Welcome (It took me long enough…)

  1. Couldn’t have said it better myself – L&D, particularly in healthcare, is a very noble field! Keep up the good work!

What do you think?

